Everyone who wants to apply for the Florida CWL must first obtain a certificate of completion of firearms safety training from a course approved by the State of Florida such as 1) the course offered by Interactive Firearms Training LLC that is conducted by a National Rifle Association certified instructor. 2) any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. 3) any firearms safety training course or class offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle association, The Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 4) any law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security officers, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement. 5) any firearms training or safety course conducted by a state-certified instructor or by an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association. NOTE: The course MUST include live fire in order to satisfy state requirements.
It is required to take only one class and the class is about 2.5 hours long
You must fill out the state application form, provide the state with a passport type photograph taken in the last 60 days and a set of fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency employee in the last 60 days.
You can mail in your application, you can apply in person at any Division of Licensing regional office or at select tax collectors offices or online
The state fee to do your background check and process your application is $97
The license is good for seven years. You can renew in seven year increments for $45
No, the class is a one time only requirement.
There are three ways to renew. 1) By mail. 2) In person at any Division of Licensing regional offices or at select county tax collectors offices or 3) it can all be done online. It is required you submit a new photograph with your renewal application.
No, any U.S. citizen or non citizen with permanent resident status is eligible for a Florida concealed weapons license. Florida residency is NOT required.
The Florida CWL allows for concealed carry of a firearm (hand gun only), knife, billy-club, stun-gun or taser.